Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing & Publishing ~

Balancing The Writer’s Life


Avid readers might be prone to becoming writers

Avid writers are apt to become publishers

Publishers are learning to interact more immediately with their readers

But this lovely triangle wouldn’t exist without the Writer.

And, these days, many more writers are still heavy readers while learning to be nimble publishers.

Where’s the Balance?

My personal balance involves Inner and Outer needs.

Inwardly, I must read so I can ponder so I can meditate so I can open the portals to let my writing happen.

Outwardly, I must blog and attend to Google Plus interaction while assuring myself sufficient time with my friends.

Inward must balance with Outward

Recently, Victoria Grefer, on her blog, Creative Writing with the Crimson League, wrote about balance in the post, Being an Author who Blogs…. The Biggest Minor Inconveniences.

Here are a few of the things she has to balance:

Do I work on the blog, or my novel?

The approaching deadline.

You want to write about your books, but in a big way, you can’t.

I’ll let those interested go read her full post

When I contemplate the balancing I must do in my life to support my being a writer, I keep coming back to one benchmark for judging what needs more weight or what must be trimmed:

AUTHENTICITY

Here’s the origin of the word from the Oxford dictionary:

late Middle English: via Old French from late Latin authenticus, from Greek authentikos ‘principal, genuine’

Are the things I’m balancing of equal genuineness?

Am I attempting to balance the principle factors?

Kill your darlings” can definitely apply to not only factors of your writing but to activities and “priorities” that don’t help you maintain your Authenticity—keep you from being true to yourself.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Our Comment Link Is At The Top of The Post :-)
For Private Comments, Email: amzolt {at} gmail {dot} com
* Google Author Page

Select as many as you like:

13 responses to “Balancing The Writer’s Life

  1. lynnbiederstadt June 24, 2013 at 7:56 am

    Another fine one, AZ…hope you’re doing well.

    Like

  2. deadeyescribe June 24, 2013 at 11:53 am

    Greetings Alexander! Wish I could balance like the woman in the video. Maybe I’m more of a juggler than a balancer? Best to you, Sir.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Day 24- A Writer’s Life Equals A Reader’s Life | After Writer Dreams

  4. Pingback: Day 24- A Writer’s Life Equals a Reader’s Life | After Writer Dreams

  5. Pingback: Productivity vs Satisfaction ~ or ~ Success vs Peace of Mind | Notes from An Alien

What Are *Your* Thoughts or Feelings?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.