Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing & Publishing ~

Even If The Experts Are Right, You Might Have To Do Your Own Thing…


I sit here pondering advice from my three favorite experts: Joe Konrath, Jane Friedman, and Joel Friedlander. The links with their names go to my archives of past articles about them

Even though I admire them all and read their advice with relish, I must always take that advice and integrate it into my own desires and plans.

Joe is an extremely successful author who has worked both sides of the publishing divide and champions self-publishing, with the numbers to justify it.

Jane is the former publisher of Writer’s Digest and a professor of e-media and writing who challenges self-published authors to keep their work at a high level of professionalism.

Joel is a book designer with mega-experience in printing, graphic design, typography and book publishing who can give a wide, top-down perspective on the Musts of self-promotion.

I think the way I use information from these three stellar souls in my own self-publishing odyssey can be compared to those automotive artists who get a stock car and customize it, often producing a vehicle that folks crave more than what the big companies make.

Taking this conversation to a higher level, I could say the human race is One Family, all the members of which should work hard to share the results of their own efforts, hoping that their brothers and sisters will not just copy but integrate and recreate, so we All can drive Humanity to fresh heights of Innovation.

OK, I just wrote two long sentences and this is a blog, which, by the lights of accepted opinion, should use less involved forms of communication—engaging some imagined lowest common reader—saving folks the effort of thinking too hard.

Oops

Please reference these posts which declaim my admission of membership in the Mavericks Club.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Our Comment Link Is At The Top of The Post :-)
For Private Comments, Email: amzolt {at} gmail {dot} com

9 responses to “Even If The Experts Are Right, You Might Have To Do Your Own Thing…

  1. Joel Friedlander November 8, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    Alexander, I think you are exactly right in your approach of using the “advice” or experience of other people to inspire your own way of doing things. It’s much more effective to create your own path than to just copy what others are doing. Good luck!

    Like

  2. cmmarcum November 9, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    Shrunk and White is law. Beyond that, I will listen to advice, consider it, measure it and maybe take it for a test ride to see if it bumps, shudders or runs out of gas.

    I pretty sure that I’m your dumbest subscriber, but I love a challenge. In my youth I hung-out with losers, but now I seek the company of people with value, so keep on keeping on.

    Like

  3. cmmarcum November 9, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    Yep. That’s the best part of hanging with folks smarter than me. I can listen, learn and compliment. :) When I hang with dumb folks, I get wrinkles and always wind-up insulting them. Whahah!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Jane Friedman on the Future of Publishing « virtualDavis

  5. Pingback: Success In Writing, Publishing And Marketing « Notes from An Alien

  6. Pingback: Success In Writing, Publishing And Marketing | Notes from An Alien

What Are *Your* Thoughts or Feelings?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.