Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing & Publishing ~

Author Interview ~ james crawford


We’ve had two interviews here with Nova Sparks and Nova just happens to be the wife of james crawford ( yes, no capitals in his name :-) plus both Nova and james originally published on the same day!

~~~~~~~~~

james, tell us a little about yourself.

I grew up in a small town north of Pittsburgh (in the USA). I moved south to Mississippi weeks after I graduated from school.  I know, boring right. Well, I am an author so that means my life is spent in front of a computer, typing. My life is only interesting because I live out the life of my characters in my head.

When did you decide you wanted to be an author?

I didn’t really decide I wanted to be an author until my book, Caleo, was in its second draft. Before that, I just wanted to write down the story that was running through my head. It wasn’t until after I had the basics of the story complete that I thought that I actually had something that other people might enjoy reading and made my decision to publish my work.

Please, james, tell us about your series.

The Leech Series is a trilogy I am working on, the first book in the series being Caleo.  The series is about an outcast who finds out he is next in line to rule a magical race of people known as Leeches. Unfortunately for him, the Leeches have been in a civil war since before he was born and now both sides want to get their hands on him. Book 1 follows the title character, Caleo, as he discovers who he is and learns to use his new found powers while running for his life.

Would you share where your inspiration comes from?

The inspiration for my stories comes from my dreams. No, seriously, I’m not kidding. Caleo came directly out of a series of dreams I had about the main character. I am sure the dreams were probably inspired by TV, movies, and books that I am always overly geeking on.

Are there genres besides sci-fi that you may try writing within?

I love sci-fi and I am sorry to say that most other genres don’t appeal to me at all. I don’t have enough emotional range for Chic-lit, I suck at comedy, and my erotica attempts… well… let’s just say it was more like ice water to the face than hot and steamy. Sci-fi is where I belong. It’s a genre where we can dream up as many things as we want and they can all fit into one book/movie. Example: Sharktopus

Who’s your favorite character in the Leech series and who is your least favorite character?

My favorite character is definitely Jack. He is sweet, smart, always singing, but can kick butt when needed. My least favorite has got to be Steve. He is a ruthless mastermind and it’s hard for me to get into his head as I am writing about his character.  We are complete opposites, me and Steve, and I think that is why it’s so rough.

So, what’s next after this series is done?

I’m not actually sure. I have a few dreams that I have written down but nothing has really struck me like Caleo’s story. There is a modern day gladiator story that I have been playing with and also a zombie survival story. None of those has made it too far into the outline stage so we will have to see if they survive.

Where can we find you on the ‘Net, james?

Well, my good friend over at Wayward Things has designed me a website where you can find all the links to my books on Amazon, Nook, and Smashwords as well as find me on Facebook and Twitter. Please, do check out the site.

james, thanks for taking the time to let us know about your first series; and, come back for another interview when all the books are published :-)

~~~~~~~~~

So, dear readers, now’s your chance to ask questions in the Comments of a writer who’s close to publishing a series
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Our Comment Link Is At The Top of The Post :-)
For Private Comments, Email: amzolt {at} gmail {dot} com

17 responses to “Author Interview ~ james crawford

  1. Natasha Larry September 14, 2012 at 12:37 pm

    Another great interview. <3 Thanks for sharing. I know great things are going to come from this author.

    Like

  2. Crystal October 8, 2012 at 5:20 pm

    I loved reading Caleo. And I have to agree that there will be great things to come from James

    Like

  3. Terri Wonder-Woman Kinckner October 9, 2012 at 9:20 am

    I can’t wait to read this book :)

    Like

  4. Katy Austin October 10, 2012 at 7:13 pm

    oh i wanna read this now!!!! Thank for a wonderful interview!!!!

    Like

  5. Vicki Hancock October 20, 2012 at 3:20 pm

    Great interview!

    Like

  6. Tammy November 8, 2012 at 8:20 pm

    I read your book before it was cool! I can’t wait for the second one so hurry up!!! I also would like a family tree.

    Like

  7. Delphina November 28, 2012 at 9:39 am

    I loved learning more about James. He is awesomesauce!

    Like

  8. AMBER LANGE December 16, 2012 at 1:56 pm

    SOUNDS LIKE A GREAT BOOK! CAN’T WAIT TO READ!

    Like

  9. Natasha Frame December 16, 2012 at 10:05 pm

    Also cant wait to read this book! Sounds awesome.

    Like

What Are *Your* Thoughts or Feelings?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.