Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing & Publishing ~

Social Media and Authenticity


Many might disagree that a blog can be part of the social media landscape. Many blogs aren’t written to fit into that terrain–they’re personal outlets, sales tools, or showcases.

I consider blogging a social endeavor and I’m working to integrate it into my activity on Google Plus.

Certainly, I’ve written my share of (mild) rants that contain no hope of reader response–though they’ve still gotten that response.

Still, most of my posts do want readers to interact; in fact, are written as “incomplete” unless commented on.

Reader comments can spur new posts and often contain information more important than the post they append.

Amy Sundberg has a blog called The Practical Free Spirit and recently wrote the post, Social Media: Do What You Love (or at least like).

If you blog or like to read blogs, you’d be doing yourself a favor to read that post. Let me share a couple nuggets to peak your interest:

“I’ve been hearing a lot in the past year about the craving we as a society have right now for authenticity, to the point that it has become something of a buzz word among certain circles. But jargon or no, I think it’s relevant to the conversation. We can tell when someone cares deeply about what they’re saying or doing, and their authenticity draws us in.

“We can talk about how much we love blogging all we want, but it is our actions that show whether we’re being genuine. Do we post regularly or do we tend to find excuses to avoid it? Do we write about subjects that we obviously care deeply about? Do we engage in the comment section with thoughtful discussion? Do we approach the writing of a blog post as though it is one of the most important things we could be doing right now?”

Do read the rest, leave Amy some feedback, then come back here and tell me how I can improve your experience of this blog :-)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Our Comment Link Is At The Top of The Post :-)

Take Part In Our Reader Survey

Get A Free Copy of the book, Notes from An Alien

8 responses to “Social Media and Authenticity

  1. Selena August 19, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    Your blog seems very authentic to me. It’s easy to see that you are passionate about what you share here. I don’t believe that can be improved on. Great post!!!!

    Like

  2. Simone Benedict August 19, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    Your blog is perfect. I took a look at my “blogs I follow” list which is fairly eclectic in topics. Authentic might be the common thread for my list. I think there’s more to it though. There are many, many excellent blogs. If I had more time, I would subscribe to more of them. I’m committed to a rather small list of blogs I read regularly because over time a sort of blogging friendship has developed. So, I agree with you on the social media aspect of blogging. However, if a blog is written purely for information or to share an author’s writing, I’m okay with that. And I’m more okay with it if the comments are turned off.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Social Media and Authenticity « Notes from An Alien | World Media Information

  4. Amy Sundberg August 23, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    Thank you, Alexander. I’m constantly thinking about how I can improve my blog too. I’m looking forward to getting to know yours better! :)

    Like

  5. Pingback: My Cure for Social Networking Anxiety « Notes from An Alien

What Are *Your* Thoughts or Feelings?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.