Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

The end of exploration – on writing a book where you can’t make things up


I’ve pre-ordered the book Roz talks about in today’s re-blog :-)

Nail Your Novel

If you get my newsletter or follow me on Facebook or Google+ you’ll have seen dancing and jubilation as Not Quite Lost is finally ready for general parading and pre-order.

It’s certainly been a new kind of writing experience, because, of course, I didn’t have the freedom to invent. This set some interesting boundaries for revision.

The pieces that were easiest to edit were the amusing mishaps  – mostly involving idiotic use of cars. Also easy were the fragments about people and places that were intriguing and mysterious. But other pieces gave me more difficulty, refused to spring into shape for a long time. They fell flat for my wise and ruthless beta-readers. ‘You lost my attention here,’ said one of them. But… but….. but… I thought.  There’s something in that story.

When a piece in a novel isn’t working but my gut tells me I want it in the…

View original post 312 more words

2 responses to “The end of exploration – on writing a book where you can’t make things up

  1. Roz Morris @Roz_Morris August 13, 2017 at 2:20 pm

    Thank you, Alexander – twicely!

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai August 13, 2017 at 2:23 pm

      Well, I hope you thank me when I review the book here…

      But, you will, I’m assured, because it can be nothing but Wonderful :-)

      Like

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

