Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

A Writer goes to the Dump


Lovely re-blog today — it’s both writing advice and a very good story :-)

Myths of the Mirror

images (1)From the Archives:

I’m a proponent of the belief that every experience contributes priceless raw material to a writer’s treasure chest. I’m a hoarder, cramming the niches of my brain with sensory inputs, emotional extremes, and reams of interesting and often useless information. No detail is too small, especially if it is painful or gross.

My husband’s back is on the fritz, so this morning I made my first solo trek to the town dump. Not a chore I anticipated with delight, I adjusted my mindset and used it as an experience-gathering expedition, adding several disgusting sensory inputs to my writing stockpile.

There are a few things you should know in order to fully appreciate this literary endeavor:

  1. It’s January in Oregon. That means it’s raining.
  2. Due to a series of unplanned mix-ups and timing obstacles, my husband hasn’t been to the dump in six months.
  3. Our trashcans are missing…

View original post 541 more words

2 responses to “A Writer goes to the Dump

  1. D. Wallace Peach August 10, 2017 at 12:16 pm

    Thanks again for sharing, Alexander. I’m glad you enjoyed the adventure. :-)

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai August 10, 2017 at 12:17 pm

      Lovely, rank and dripping, story :-)

      Totally well-done

      Liked by 1 person

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

