Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

Writing as If There Were No Tomorrow


Today’s re-blog is about a writing task every single person should do…

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

marciabilykBy Marcia Krause Bilyk

After officiating at over two hundred-fifty funeral, memorial, and graveside services, I’ve asked the local funeral director to remove my name from his Rolodex. It’s time to let go of one of my favorite pastoral privileges: meeting with families of the deceased and writing eulogies based on the information and memories they’ve shared. I now intend to reflect on and write about my own life experiences.

You can’t conduct end-of-life services without being exquisitely aware of your own mortality. When I was newly married, I regularly updated my husband Ed on how I wished to be buried. I wasn’t concerned about homicide, suicide, or accidental death. As pastor of two small, rural churches, I was noticing how people were laid to rest, and I wanted to make my final wishes clear.

I’d tell him, “Honey, don’t let anyone put anything inside my casket.” I grew up…

View original post 314 more words

2 responses to “Writing as If There Were No Tomorrow

  1. mermaidmouth July 23, 2017 at 8:08 am

    Ugh! This has been daunting me for the longest. Thank you for reminding me. hahaha
    I spend so much time in graveyards taking pictures and collecting names, it’s like this thing that I’m ever-aware of yet I can’t seem to find the right head space to sit down and figure these things out. Like I have definite preferences and like any other creative person, I’ve got a million and one ideas about an epitaph and that sort of thing, but still no plans on paper. :O
    SOS?!
    Happy Sunday, Alex.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Alexander M Zoltai July 23, 2017 at 8:34 am

      Well, Elizabeth…

      As soon as I’d published this re-blog, I added a repeating pop-up note on my calendar—I figure my writing something out, while not seeming important to me, could well be very important to family and friends………

      Very nice having your comment here :-)

      Liked by 2 people

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

