Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

The Beginnings of my Reading Life by Caroline Petrow


Today’s re-blog has a reading teacher being honest enough to talk about her struggle with her own reading life & saying things like this about her students:

“Unintentionally, as I place more importance on growing a reading life of my own, the amount of books in theirs’ expand as well.”

Nerdy Book Club

I am an ambivalent reader.  I always have been. That is, until a few months ago. As a child I learned to read with little difficulty and fondly remember childhood books. Examples of avid readers fill my life including my librarian grandmother carrying a book everywhere, my mother pouring over novels during summer nights on our back porch, and a former literacy coach starting a book club just to get teachers reading. But I failed to ever reflect on and expand my reading life. Even as an adult, I admire friends who easily engage in multiple books at a time and gush with tales from their journeys.  I start many books and finish some.

The truth is, for the past decade I’ve taught children how to read.  At least 200 elementary students have learned from a teacher who could take or leave books.  Yes, I’ve worked to help them become…

View original post 690 more words

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

