Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

On Writing, Mothering, and Slouching Towards Fulfillment


Much to ponder in today’s re-blog; even if you’re not a mother…

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

author-photo Sarah Curtis Graziano

By Sarah Curtis Graziano

Recently, I was talking with a writer who told me that she’d enrolled in an MFA program years ago, when her teenage son was very small. The experience taught her a simple lesson, she said, one still applies to her life today: that she is a better mother when she writes.

“Because you’re fulfilled,” I said, nodding in solidarity. It seems like a no-brainer —  happier people make better parents, right? Though in truth, her sentiment made me feel guilty because I could not fully share it. It’s not that writing doesn’t make me happier; unquestionably, it does. Returning to the page after ten years in the trenches raising my daughters has been surprisingly liberating. I find that a solid day of writing can swoop my brain up and over the muck of adult life, with all its petty schoolyard dramas, its apocalyptic news…

View original post 646 more words

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

