Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

THE MYTH OF THE RELUCTANT READER by Aaron Becker


Wonderful re-blog today — a solution, a Real one, a Simple one, for those kids who have trouble reading words but love stories…

Nerdy Book Club

I have a confession. I did not read books when I was a kid. Of course, there was the time in 5th grade that I conspicuously placed A Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson on my desk, but that brief brush with literature was meant only to impress the two bookish girls in my class that I liked (one of whom is now a children’s writer but I’m not telling who!). Other kids were skateboarding to look the part. I was pretending to read books.

It’s not that I wasn’t surrounded by these bound bits of paper. My professorial parents lined our living room with volumes of fiction and non-fiction to quickly pull off the shelf if my sister and I needed help with our homework. I was a good student. Valedictorian even. But reading was something I only did when someone made me. Not because I didn’t like…

View original post 736 more words

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

