Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

Writing is Centering, Like Prayer


Today’s re-blog is, in so many ways, what I’ve lived through…

Humans are, in fact, more alike than different…

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

marciabilykBy Marcia Krause Bilyk

The day after Trump’s inauguration, when Sean Spicer stood at the White House podium and declared the crowd the largest in Inaugural history, instead of scoffing at him, instead of declaring him as nuts as his boss, I was transported to my childhood feelings of rage, fear, and despair.

I grew up with a narcissistic father. Our home was suffused with his grandiosity, his exaggerations, his uninformed opinions. Mother, for reasons I couldn’t understand, didn’t contradict or question him. If I complained to her in private about his bullying, she’d say, “Your father loves you.” It felt crazy. Mother warned us not to speak of what went on at home to our friends. Dad’s rages were a closely guarded secret. There was no predicting what might set him off.

I withheld from Dad what he wanted and expected of me: affirmation, loyalty, devotion. I vowed I’d be…

View original post 287 more words

3 responses to “Writing is Centering, Like Prayer

  1. dgkaye May 29, 2017 at 9:35 pm

    Well said. I can identify with Marcia’s fear and confusion of growing up with a narcissistic parent and wholeheartedly agree with the current climate. These are indeed frightening times.

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai May 29, 2017 at 9:52 pm

      Indeed… Indeed………

      Liked by 1 person

      • dgkaye May 29, 2017 at 11:36 pm

        :)

        Like

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

