Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

The ethics of ghost-writing


I’ve re-blogged Roz Morris here many times…

Today’s re-blog is the most challenging yet…

I hope it evokes a few comments…

Nail Your Novel

282428943_322a2027b4_oThis week I was pulled into a discussion on Facebook about ghost-writing.

It began when novelist Matt Haig wrote an impassioned opinion in which he lamented the number of books whose true authors were not acknowledged, which kicked off a wide-ranging and emotional debate. One commenter introduced the term ethics and asked me to talk about ghost-writing from that perspective. As that’s far too long and gnarly for a Facebook comment, I thought I’d explore it in a post. Here goes.

What ethical considerations might there be? Looking through the discussion, they seemed to be:

  • Is it dishonest to pretend that anybody could write a book?
  • Does ghost-writing devalue the contribution of real writers, or appreciation of their skill, especially when so many genuine writers struggle to get published?

I’m going to tackle this in a roundabout way, and first, I think we have to be practical.

Writing is like…

View original post 1,309 more words

2 responses to “The ethics of ghost-writing

  1. Roz Morris @Roz_Morris May 8, 2017 at 4:06 am

    Sending my ghostly thanks…

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai May 8, 2017 at 12:06 pm

      I appreciate the thanks (though, I can’t for the world see its shape…) and, in turn thank you for being so spooky :-)

      Like

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

