Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

The Pen is Mighty


Ah, pens…

Today’s re-blog shows what can happen when you use one :-)

A Teacher's Reflections

Writing is a powerful thing.  And, so is reading.  To my surprise and delight, this is what I received in the mail recently:

imageYes, it is a postcard from author Kate DiCamillo.  It is even signed, “Your Friend”.  I sent her my blog post on ‘Really Understanding Children’, because Beverly, the character in her book RaymieNightingale,  is just like my Beverly at summer camp.  Well, it was really more than that; I truly understood both children.  I needed Kate DiCamillo to know that.  I think she does, as she wrote this on the bottom of the postcard:

imageThe words read, “P.S.  Thank you for sending on your wonderful blog about Beverly and Beverly.”

The pen most definitely is mighty.  It holds more power than typing the keys on a keyboard.  Handwriting seems to hold real feelings.  I remember the curves of the letters in my grandmother’s writing.  When I…

View original post 200 more words

7 responses to “The Pen is Mighty

  1. Jennie April 22, 2017 at 2:19 pm

    Thank you for reblogging! 🙂

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai April 22, 2017 at 2:23 pm

      Thank You for blogging :-)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. dgkaye April 24, 2017 at 10:33 pm

    I’d have to agree. I write all my books in longhand. I don’t feel creative typing on a keyboard, plus it saves be from backtracking to edit as I write. :)

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai April 25, 2017 at 12:32 am

      Hmmm… I don’t write in longhand; but, I can see the value in having it keep you from backtracking as you write—yet, even though I work on a computer from 1st draft on, I tend not to backtrack until I find the end of the story :-)

      Liked by 1 person

      • dgkaye April 25, 2017 at 10:03 am

        I’m sure I would find it too tempting, but I won’t have to worry as I don’t feel I’ll be changing my habits any time soon. :)

        Like

        • Alexander M Zoltai April 25, 2017 at 2:48 pm

          Same here…

          All hail us folks of “advanced” age :-)

          Liked by 1 person

          • dgkaye April 25, 2017 at 4:19 pm

            :) :)

            Like

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

