Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

Daily Archives: April 20, 2017

I Am Not a Writer


Can you write and still not be a “writer”…?

Today’s re-blog puts forward some fascinating opinions………

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

zz IMG_0011By Sheila Siegel

According to all the books on writing that I have read, I am not a writer. I am a psychologist, an anti-slavery activist, and a reader, but I am not a writer. Yet, I have written a book.

I approached writing as I do everything, with focus and determination, but, when I am writing, get stuck, and feel I have nothing to say, I don’t sit down at my computer and stare at a blank screen as other writers exhort. I get up and read, paint, or take the dogs for a walk.

I don’t blog even though it sounds like a good idea. I don’t journal although I have bought several with all good intentions. I had a five-year one where each day was given three lines. After six months, I had made one entry. I gave it to a friend who wanted to write.

I have…

View original post 706 more words

