Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Writing { and reading and publishing } ~

Daily Archives: March 9, 2017

Breathing and Writing


Meditation to aid writing — Brilliant! :-)

Live to Write - Write to Live

Meditative breathing helps me regain my concentration. Meditative breathing helps me regain my concentration.

I once heard Malachy McCourt begin a commencement address memorable for its brazen wisdom. “If you’ve got one foot in the future and one foot in the past,” he said, “it means you’re pissing on the present.”

I was reminded of this vivid image as I was lamenting the tasks still on my To Do (set up an interview, draft an article) while anticipating a visit from my nieces and their kids. Lamenting the past or lamenting the future wasn’t going to help me get this post up. Writing requires being present in the here and now.

Over the years, I’ve developed three fail-safe strategies to bring my mind to bear on the work on my desk regardless of what’s going on at home.

  1. The first method is journaling. Sometimes, I just narrate how I arrived at work – telling the stories of…

View original post 395 more words

