Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Writing { and reading and publishing } ~

Literary writers, we are not alone – meet Main Street Writers


Wonderful Initiative revealed in today’s re-blog :-)

Nail Your Novel

screen-shot-2017-02-10-at-12-34-34While I’d never claim that genre writers ‘have it easy’ in this publishing ecosystem, they have undeniable advantages – they plug into well established tribes.

Literary fiction is much more about individual visions and the people who don’t fit. And if you’re publishing literary fiction as an indie, you’re usually a tribe of one, squeaking your tiny squeak in a roaring wind. I have friends in mainstream publishing who give me furious pep-talks about how I’m on a hiding to nothing, which, of course, is excellent for morale. Thanks, guys. (Here’s where I thanked them more extensively.)

That’s why I wanted to make sure you didn’t miss this – a campaign that aims to represent the work of literary writers, small presses, independent bookshops and anyone who struggles to be heard or find their audiences. It’s called the Main Street Writers Movement and it’s the brainchild of Laura…

View original post 238 more words

6 responses to “Literary writers, we are not alone – meet Main Street Writers

  1. Roz Morris @Roz_Morris February 12, 2017 at 12:13 pm

    Thanks, Alexander! Let’s spread the word.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Alexander M Zoltai February 12, 2017 at 12:14 pm

      I’ll blog tomorrow about it, too…

      Were you able to sign the Pledge?

      Didn’t seem to be working for me :-(

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Roz Morris @Roz_Morris February 12, 2017 at 6:29 pm

    I’ve been trying to sign it but it wouldn’t accept my postcode. But Laura Stanfill is on the case and trying to let me in. Anyway, I’m sure it’s possible to get involved without that.

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai February 12, 2017 at 6:42 pm

      I’ve been in communication with her; though, I doubt what I found out can help you…

      What I learned is that signing up for the initiative IS “signing the pledge”—even though it appears they are two different things…

      I’ll be blogging more fully about it all tomorrow :-)

      Like

  3. Pingback: Main Street Writers Movement ~~~ for: “Everyone who wishes more people were reading and talking about literature.“ | Notes from An Alien

  4. Pingback: #MainStreetWriters ~ Moving Forward | Notes from An Alien

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

