Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Writing { and reading and publishing } ~

Passing the Baton by Maria Canela


This quote is from today’s re-blog:

“…there is nothing more beautiful than sharing a passion with young minds who need to be inspired and gain knowledge. Thankfully, literature is amazing at serving both of these purposes.”

Nerdy Book Club

As a new mom, it is important for me to share my love of reading with my daughter. My husband and I began reading to her while she was still in the womb, and I find it necessary to pass the love of books onto her starting at an early age. Reading to my daughter is not only exciting and fun, but it is a way to bond with her; I get to share an intimate experience with my most important contribution to the world.

canela 1Although I was not read to as a child by my parents, being an English teacher has shaped my belief that reading to children from a young age is of extreme importance. Many of the children I teach struggle with literacy because reading has never been a huge aspect of their lives. They were not read to as infants and even toddlers, so the first…

View original post 585 more words

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

