Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

Big Magic


Today’s re-blog is a wonderful review of a book by the writer Elizabeth Gilbert :-)

Live to Write - Write to Live

Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear. Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear.

Not many books I’ve read about writing and staying inspired have confronted the fear factor, so I was eager to read Elizabeth Gilbert’s Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear. At long last, the library copy became available, and I have the book in my hands.

What I like about what I’ve read so far is that Gilbert expands creativity beyond the page and talks about “creative living . . . a life that is driven more strongly by curiosity than by fear.”

One of the things I love about being a writer is license to be curious, because while I may escape to my studio every day to face the same blank page, I’m also tasked with learning new information, meeting new people, asking questions, being curious.

Gilbert acknowledges that courage is necessary for creativity. Some days, sitting at my desk is scary and I…

View original post 439 more words

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

