Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Writing { and reading and publishing } ~

How Long Does It Take To Write A Book?


Today’s re-blog is a delightful peek into the “lifestyle” of those who write…

I think I’ll always maintain that writing is the weirdest thing in the world…

By the way, the word history of “weird” is:

“Old English wyrd ‘destiny’, of Germanic origin . The adjective ( late Middle English ) originally meant ‘having the power to control destiny’, and was used especially in the Weird Sisters , originally referring to the Fates , later the witches in Shakespeare’s Macbeth ; the latter use gave rise to the sense ‘unearthly’ ( early 19th century ).”

Live to Write - Write to Live

www.deborahleeluskin.com These papers have been in a box under my desk for most of a year.

“How long it take to write a book?” my dad asks.

“It depends,” I answer.

“How long does it have to be?”

“As long as it needs,” I reply.

“How long is the book you’re writing?”

“It was four hundred pages.” I say.

“Four hundred pages!” he says. “Wow!”

“But now it’s just two hundred,” I add.

“How long have you been writing it?” he asks.

It’s been in a box under my desk for almost a year.

This makes it sound as if I haven’t been working on this novel since last August, which is not entirely true.

* * *

I think about the book all the time, as if it were some best friend I keep in my prayers while it convalesces from a serious illness. In this time, I have imagined…

View original post 441 more words

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

