Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

Call for Essays Examining the Nonfiction of Social Justice


Considering the rampant corruption of most of the world’s political systems, I thought today’s re-blog (from an American) would be productive of positive thinking (and, writing…).

~ the image is from the author of the original blog post…

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

A note from Karen Babine, editor of Assay: A Journal of Nonfiction Studies:

zzstOn Wednesday morning, we, like many of you, had no idea how to walk into our classrooms, what to say to our students. The results of the election were paralyzing to many of us. Many of us are still paralyzed. It was a Facebook post from a friend that got me there: “Educators, get out of bed. We have work to do.” My Wednesday composition class’s plan to talk about Aristotle’s Three Appeals seemed beyond ridiculous. So, like many of you, I scrapped my lesson plan, but I was in class with my students at my urban community college in the north suburbs of Minneapolis. I’m still struggling to find words—in class this week, I couldn’t even finish my sentences and my students just looked at me and nodded. They didn’t have words either. In that…

View original post 255 more words

2 responses to “Call for Essays Examining the Nonfiction of Social Justice

  1. juliecroundblog November 20, 2016 at 6:37 am

    I don’t know enough about politics in the USA to write an essay but it seems similar to the attitudes of the educated elite when the Brexit result came through. Isn’t there anyone who will accept the results of democracy? Of course a benign dictatorship might be better but dictatorships don’t remain benign. Let’s hope the checks and balances in the constitution work for the benefit of everyone.

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai November 20, 2016 at 12:10 pm

      Yes, Julie, let us Hope………

      Like

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

