Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

Why I wrote a fantasy story and my writer’s journey


Today’s re-blog is a perfect example of how to repurpose one’s resources — Adrian did an interview on this blog and turned it into a fabulous biographical article :-)

Here’s the interview link

Author Adrian G Hilder

adrian-g-hilder

Why I wrote a fantasy story

I read and loved many fantasy novels in my teens and early twenties.  My favorite authors were David Gemmell, David Eddings, Raymond E Fiest, Terry Brooks and of course, Tolkien. When I was seventeen (in 1988), I promised myself I would write a fantasy story one day.  I had an urge to create a tale that would be gripping the way my favorite movies and books were. I wanted to give the reader a sense of excitement as they read a story I created.

My writer’s journey so far

It has been long and some respects it started in 1988 when I first invented a character – a young man with tumbling black hair falling to his shoulders, sitting on a rock and holding an enchanted sword of some kind.  He had a grave look on his face, and I knew he had an…

View original post 1,212 more words

2 responses to “Why I wrote a fantasy story and my writer’s journey

  1. Adrian G Hilder November 17, 2016 at 12:38 pm

    I have engaged some help in publicizing the launch and continuing to advertise The General’s Legacy. They needed me to provide this kind of biographical blog post so they can promote it and it’s impossible to write the same thing twice and make it significantly different ;)
    Snuck the reference to nfaa in there at the end in the hope people could find it :)

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai November 17, 2016 at 12:46 pm

      You did a great (even, admirable) job :-)

      Liked by 1 person

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

