Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

The Magical Realm of Libraries by Gwendolyn Hooks


Today’s re-blog touches on so many important issues…

Hope it triggers something valuable in your mind and heart :-)

Nerdy Book Club

Libraries have always been one of my favorite places to visit. They are magical, and librarians are magicians.

My father was career Air Force and like most military families we moved—a lot. From Georgia to Italy and back to Georgia, then Texas on to Washington, back to Georgia again and finally at rest in Oklahoma. I didn’t like moving. Shy kids should not be forced to make new friends after the school year has started.

During those shy times, the library was my refuge. While reading, my mind drifted into the story and I became friends with the book characters. It was just what I needed as the new girl in school. I read mysteries and became a detective solving make believe mysteries on the Air Force base. As an adult, I’ve even written a few for young readers (Mystery of the Missing Dog and The Cat Food Mystery

View original post 794 more words

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

