Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

Forever Nerdy by Melanie Conklin


Think being a devoted reader isn’t related to being a writer?

Today’s re-blog is one story that clearly shows the connection :-)

Nerdy Book Club

reading with dadI’ve always been a nerd. From the very beginning, my favorite time of day was any time spent reading. My parents read Sesame Street Bedtime Storybook aloud so many times that I can still remember the words and pictures. Those scrawled, hairy illustrations were my favorite. So much to look at and think about. So many questions to explore.

Growing up, I loved nonfiction books about dinosaurs and horses. I read every kind of fiction, too. TheBabysitter’s Club. The Secret Garden. The Hobbit. Black Beauty. The BFG. I didn’t write stories as a kid, but I was full of questions and answers that I felt compelled to share with the world. My favorite question: WHY? My favorite answers? Those came from our bound, leather encyclopedia set, full of text and illustrations that I pored over for hours, careful not to mar the pages.

In middle school, I achieved new…

View original post 567 more words

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

