Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

Books as Connectors by Susie Rolander


Yes, today’s re-blog is about a teacher; and, yes, she talks about helping her students to love reading; and, yes, she recommends a number of books that could be considered “for kids”…

However, any adult that pays attention to her words will find much to Ponder :-)

Nerdy Book Club

“You are a connector!” my friend Angela said to me many years ago.  She had just finished reading Malcolm Gladwell’s book The Tipping Point.  “These people who link us up with the world…these people on whom we rely on more heavily than we realize – are Connectors, people with a very special gift of bringing people together.” I do love to connect people…”Oh, you should meet so-and-so because they love doing x just like you!”  This was long before I became an avid reader.  In fact, I didn’t become a reader really until I went on vacation in Mexico and pulled a calf muscle.  Internet service was terrible and all I had was a stack of my children’s books.  I found a new love.  

I think the fact that I didn’t find a love of reading until well into adulthood has helped me connect children with reading…

View original post 1,446 more words

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

