Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

A Few of My Favorite Libraries by Django Wexler


Today’s re-blog makes brief visits to a few fantastical libraries :-)

Nerdy Book Club

When I was thirteen or fourteen, I got my first job, as a page at my local library. The work was just a few hours of shelving books every week, but simply being in the library a lot left quite an impression on me. I was already an avid reader, but up to that point I’d mostly used the school library, which had a relatively circumscribed collection. The public library, however, had an excellent science fiction and fantasy shelf, which I dove into with gusto. (One of the perks of being a page was being able to take out more books at once than an ordinary patron!)

Whatever else it left me with (I still keep the many bookshelves in my house neatly alphabetized by subject), working at the library left me with an attraction to the atmosphere of libraries.  Quite apart from how fun and useful they are, there’s…

View original post 688 more words

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

