Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

I wish I’d written… Five novels that make me raise my game


Today’s re-blog has the amazing writer, Roz Morris, telling us about books that nudge her to write even better :-)

Nail Your Novel

Sometimes I put a book down and am left a tad envious. These are books that, although I finished them several months ago, still make my green eyes … greener.

……..

Night Work Nail Your NovelNight Work by Thomas Glavinic, translated by John Brownjohn
Jonas wakes up one morning to find he is the last person left alive. There are no bodies. No animals or birdsong. He is completely alone. He searches the city, leaves messages everywhere, dials stored numbers in the phones of offices and shops, gets drunk a lot, develops forms of madness and strategies to stop himself feeling so alone.

A lot of people on Goodreads didn’t like it, and I can appreciate their reasons. Basically it’s a book where hardly anything happens. I usually don’t like that either, but this kept me intrigued. I wanted to see what the author would do with the idea, so perhaps my curiosity was…

View original post 650 more words

2 responses to “I wish I’d written… Five novels that make me raise my game

  1. Roz Morris @Roz_Morris August 6, 2016 at 12:15 pm

    Appreciate the reblog, Alexander!

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai August 6, 2016 at 12:21 pm

      Appreciating the Author, Roz :-)

      Like

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

