Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

Writing Rituals


You may not be like the writer in today’s re-blog; but, reading about her “way of being a writer” might give you a few ideas :-)

Live to Write - Write to Live

One of my writing rituals is to get to my desk early, before my critical editor's awake. One of my writing rituals is to get to my desk early, before my critical editor’s awake.

Over the years I’ve developed writing rituals that help me face the blank page, like getting to my desk early in the morning, before my editor’s awake. It would seem as if my critical editor is a late sleeper, so these early hours find me at my creative best, most willing to take risks, to shine light into the dark and to have the courage to say what I see.

As the sun comes up, my logical mind kicks into gear. This is the part of my brain that sees patterns and helps me arrange characters, scenes and events into a narrative arc. By late morning, my editor gets out of bed, and she sees ways to improve language and syntax; cut repetition and ask the hard questions like, What’s this about? What…

View original post 488 more words

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

