Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

Writers Play


Fun & Games in today’s re-blog :-)

Live to Write - Write to Live

Recently, I’ve been thinking about and researching the science behind play. As I was learning about play, I realized reading about play is actually play for me! One researcher talked about different play personalities and it got me thinking about how we play with words.

I still remember walking out of the medical school library one night with some friends. We’d been studying the lymphatic system (which is similar to arteries and veins but it carries lymph, which is fluid containing inflammatory markers and immune-modulating cells—okay, this is probably way more than you wanted or needed to know about lymph.)

Anyway—as we were walking along, my friend Alex suddenly shouted, “I’m emphatic about lymphatics!”

That was 24 years ago and I still think it’s funny.

Very simple word play, but I love it.

I imagine most writers like word play. I love to catch Will Shortz on NPR on Sunday…

View original post 408 more words

4 responses to “Writers Play

  1. juliecroundblog July 16, 2016 at 9:54 am

    I used to play a word game on Librarything until the computer said the site was unsafe. I can remember I had to use a dictionary but I’m getting so forgetful I can’t remember the rules.
    I think someone gave us a definition and we had to find the word. Anyone else remember?

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai July 16, 2016 at 10:30 am

      I used to use LibraryThing but I don’t remember the game, Julie

      Like

      • juliecroundblog July 19, 2016 at 1:37 am

        It was called Crambo. You had to give the other players the definition of a word and they had to find one that rhymed with it. Of course they had to work out what the word was, first. I’d have to check on the rules but lots of us enjoyed it.

        Like

        • Alexander M Zoltai July 19, 2016 at 9:32 am

          Ah

          Cool

          Thanks, Julie :-)

          Like

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

