Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

How Nerd Camp Transformed My Teaching by Holly Schlan


How cool is this—a re-blog about “Nerd Camp” :-)

Nerdy Book Club

BNC (Before Nerd Camp):

I would like to think that before I attended Nerd Camp I was a pretty good teacher. I loved my students and wanted them to love learning. I differentiated instruction and taught them based on their needs. I was a pioneer in integrating technology for student reflection and engagement. I searched Pinterest for every new activity I could find for teaching my students in creative ways. Most importantly, my students were gaining knowledge and showing great progress. I know I was a good teacher. But it was my experience at Nerd Camp that helped me understand that I was still missing something HUGE.

DNC (During Nerd Camp):

Nerd Camp was an amazing experience, and I don’t think anyone who has attended would say otherwise. Throughout a packed two days, you are mingling with some of the best authors and illustrators of our time, making connections with…

View original post 1,124 more words

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

