Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Writing { and reading and publishing } ~

Peter Shaffer, my earliest muse – how we create the infinite


Profoundly fascinating re-blog from Roz Morris…

Nail Your Novel

I’m not good at nominating favourites. I find the question too complicated to answer so absolutely. For instance, a favourite book? Favourite in what subset of a subset? It’s like comparing apples to aardvarks. But I do have a few authors I’m wholeheartedly absolute about, and one of them is Peter Shaffer, whose death was announced today. I thought I’d dig out this piece as a tribute.

equusFirst published at For Books’ Sake, October 2011

We create the infinite: my favourite 3 fictional characters when I was 16

Francisco Pizarro. Dr Martin Dysart. Antonio Salieri.

This trio of unhappy protagonists crossed my desk many years ago in English class. An illiterate Spanish general. A burnt-out psychiatrist. A composer in the Habsburg court. Two are historical, but I met them in fictional form in three dramas by Peter Shaffer – The Royal Hunt of the Sun, Equus and Amadeus

View original post 725 more words

2 responses to “Peter Shaffer, my earliest muse – how we create the infinite

  1. Roz Morris @Roz_Morris June 7, 2016 at 2:16 am

    Thank you, Alexander!

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai June 7, 2016 at 2:21 am

      Thank you, Roz ;-)

      Like

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

