Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

On Writing and the Fear Factor


Today’s re-blog, though from a non-fiction writer, is still good for fiction folk.

It has many questions you may have asked yourself and an interesting resolution :-)

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

Jacki Skole Jacki Skole

By Jacki Skole

I read to put off writing, and lately, I’ve been reading a lot.

Sometimes I read about writing—books like Lee Gutkind’s You Can’t Make This Stuff Upand Natalie Goldberg’s Writing Down the Bones. Sometimes I read the nonfiction I’d like to write. Recently, that’s meant a lot of magazine-length and flash nonfiction. I suppose I’m hoping for some sort of literary osmosis to take place.

All this reading makes me a bit of a hypocrite. When I speak to students in a Writing for the Mass Media course I teach at my local community college, I tell them, “To become the writer you want to be, you must read, and you must write—write a little every day.”

And yet… I don’t write every day or every other day. Sometimes weeks pass.
Perhaps it’s because I’ve never considered myself a writer. A journalist, sure…

View original post 437 more words

2 responses to “On Writing and the Fear Factor

  1. JackiSkole April 26, 2016 at 5:00 pm

    Thank you for sharing this essay. An update: I haven’t achieved my goal of writing every day–alas, I’m too willing to let life get in the way–but I no longer go days without putting pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. And I’m still trying to figure out what it means to me, to be a writer. No easy answer to that one.

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai April 26, 2016 at 9:15 pm

      I concur, Jacki, no easy answer :-)

      Like

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

