Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

Vow of silence: how much do you talk about your novel in progress?


Today’s re-blog, by Roz Morris, gives some excellent reasons (which you may or may not agree with…) for not discussing a book in progress, until ………

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel vow of silenceIf you’ve hung around here for a while, you might have spotted that I’m writing my third novel and it’s called Ever Rest. Assuming you give two hoots about it, or even just one, you’ll have noticed that’s about all I give away.

I’ve mentioned Ever Rest in posts where I talk about a writing challenge that taught me a new trick. I’ve occasionally asked for help on tiny points of research (glory be to Facebook and Twitter). I’ve revealed occasional pieces of music that I’m using in its Undercover Soundtrack. If you subscribe to my newsletter, you’ll get updates when I discover a particularly breathtaking piece – but I won’t tell you what it’s telling me. Aside from that, the most tangible thing I’ve ever revealed was when I whipped away its working title (I first introduced it as The Mountains Novel). Even in craft posts…

View original post 660 more words

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

