Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

Writing Actually Is Hard Work, Which Is Fine


Today’s re-blog is a rare gift:

A non-fiction piece that’s lyrical…

An honest look at what it takes to “write good”…

A reminder to my former self that nearly every first draft needs improvement…

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

pic-victorRuth Carmel writes in response to Mike Minchin’s guest blog post, “Writing is Not Hard Work”:

I’m in the winter doldrums and the writing is slacking off. More precisely, I’m slacking off it. Too much late night television, forgetting to write down my ideas. At least I have an excuse for the moment. One of my sons has winter vacation, so until school kicks in again, it’s him and me facing the world together.

He’s fifteen but less independent than a typical kid his age, so I’m his buddy these days. We spent this morning at a warehouse store. I knew better than to troll the aisles, which I find headache-inducing even when I’m shopping solo. We stuck to business. After we ordered my son’s eyeglasses (cheaper than at the local optician, with its seasonally-appropriate window displays, but less risky than the hit-or-miss of an online pair), we headed straight…

View original post 898 more words

2 responses to “Writing Actually Is Hard Work, Which Is Fine

  1. dgkaye January 27, 2016 at 11:32 pm

    Great article. I follow that blog. :)

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai January 28, 2016 at 1:42 am

      Very Cool :-)

      Liked by 1 person

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

