Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

Publishing: A lot of Smoke and Mirrors?


Today’s re-blog is a bit of sober reflection on the idea that a writer, when contemplating getting published, can leave all that promotion stuff to the publisher—or, actually, leave Anything to the publisher…

janruthblog

In which I’m made to eat my words as I come full circle through the maze of publishing to discover that the grass isn’t necessarily greener over there; it’s still mostly desert scrub from every direction…

2197a79

Last year I wrote a general post about the publishing industry which resonated with a lot of independent authors: https://janruthblog.wordpress.com/2015/02/27/my-affair-with-john-hudspith-and-why-i-had-to-leave-self-publishing/

It came about through sheer frustration at the lack of visibility and the cost of producing books. A turning point came when a small press offered a contract for Silver Rain. This is it, I thought. This is the change of direction I need… but be careful what you wish for! Don’t get me wrong in that I had huge delusional ideas at this stage. I was simply seeking greater visibility and some respite from the nuts and bolts of self-publishing.

And all the outward signs were good: they took five back-catalogue titles and one…

View original post 1,130 more words

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

