Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

Print options and free books: two of my own rules I’m breaking this year…


Re-blogging Roz Morris again today…

She’s so knowledgeable yet still learning :-)

Nail Your Novel

2989166090_f5b8087687_zIn my last post I talked about publishing options in a changing world. Well, this year I’m reversing a couple of my own fervently held policies. So today I confess. (I’m an indie. I reserve the right to change my mind.)

Change #1 Putting print editions on IngramSpark

If you’re self-publishing, one of the main debates is which print on demand company to use. CreateSpace is free and has the most seamless interface with Amazon, which is where you’ll get the bulk of your sales because most of your marketing is online. But Ingram Spark has better distribution links with other outlets. And bookshops balk at ordering CreateSpace titles because the delivery time is slow and returns aren’t possible. So current wisdom is to buy ISBNs, print for Amazon only on CreateSpace, and print for other needs on Ingram Spark. (A lot more about this here. )

Why…

View original post 761 more words

2 responses to “Print options and free books: two of my own rules I’m breaking this year…

  1. Roz Morris @Roz_Morris January 13, 2016 at 2:29 am

    Once again, Alexander – thank you for generously sharing my work!

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai January 13, 2016 at 1:06 pm

      And, again, Dear Roz, I’m glad you’re out there and producing so I can share it :-)

      Like

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

