Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

Finally Feeling Like a Reader… by Kimberly McDermid


Do you think all teachers of reading are avid readers?

Reading today’s re-blog might give you a big surprise :-)

Nerdy Book Club

I’ve been wanting to write this post for two years, I thought about doing it when my sister, an avid reader, valedictorian in high school, now a doctor, called me, the t.v. loving, phone talking, anything but reading sister and said “I need a new book to read, what can you recommend?” I knew then everything had changed for me as a reader!

Here’s my journey in finally feeling like a reader….

I’ve always loved books. As a child, I would be so excited when I got the book order form, I’d take it home and pick out books I’d want. I asked my teachers to let me help them sort the books when they arrived. I enjoyed the look and feel of a new book. So fresh and clean. My bookshelves were always full, but honestly I can’t say I really read any of them. Reading was hard for…

View original post 776 more words

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

