Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Writing { and reading and publishing } ~

American English, British English, Canadian English… which to use for your book?


I think my Friend in Australia will really like today’s Re-blog :-)

Hmmm…

Friend, Australia—me, USA—Re-blog author, UK………

Nail Your Novel

w&alogotomayto tomato what brand of English should you useYesterday I spoke at the Writers & Artists self-publishing conference, and one of the attendees raised this subject… which led to an interesting debate.

First of all, does it matter if your editor is American, British, Canadian, Australian, or any other flavour of English?

Not for developmental editing, because that’s about the substance of the book. The editor won’t be recommending line corrections or studying your phrasing or grammar (although they might remark on it).

But in copy editing and proofreading, your use of language will be under scrutiny. That’s where you need an editor in tune with your territory. (Here’s a post on the different editorial processes and the order to do them.)

You say tomayto…

In case you’re wondering, there is far more difference than spellings and vocab. I’m a thoroughly Brit speaker, and I couldn’t copy-edit or proof a US book. Or an Australian book…

View original post 634 more words

2 responses to “American English, British English, Canadian English… which to use for your book?

  1. dgkaye November 24, 2015 at 10:03 pm

    Great post, and food for thought. I’m Canadian and had to decide this when I wrote my first book. I was advised by my editor to keep it American. :)

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai November 25, 2015 at 12:53 am

      I think I’ve had each person from different countries tell me different stories about how they handle “English” :-)

      Liked by 1 person

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

