Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Writing { and reading and publishing } ~

Publishing Poetry


When I published my poetry book, I didn’t expect many people would buy it (same with my novel); so, I have them both available in free editions, along with the ones folks can buy.

Publishing Poetry

Image Courtesy of Ulrik De Wachter ~ http://www.freeimages.com/profile/ulrik

Basically, I don’t see giving my books away as some marketing ploy (though, some of the “experts” claim it helps sell books)—I just hope folks will read them

Yesterday, my Best Friend sent me a link for possible use on this blog—Manic D Press Gives Poetry an Address.

I’d already found an address for my poetry at FastPencil Press; but, this blog isn’t just about what I do in my writing career :-)

The article in Poets & Writers begins with:

In 1984, after being told by a New York literary agent, ‘Take up stamp collecting. No one publishes poetry anymore…. Shakespeare probably couldn’t get published today’, poet Jennifer Joseph decided to self-publish her poetry collection as the first title from San Francisco–based Manic D Press. ‘I wanted my poems to have a place to live’, Joseph says. ‘They needed their own address where they could be found in the future.’”

The article continues with:

“Over thirty years later, Manic D Press, run by Joseph and a handful of interns, is still publishing the work of ‘those who have been shunned by the traditional publishing establishment for lacking commercial viability.’”

Manic D publishes six to ten titles of poetry a year; plus, fiction, nonfiction, cultural studies, children’s books, graphic novels, humor, and art and music books.

Here are the Submission Guidelines for Manic D Press.

And, here is an interesting note from those Guidelines:

“The best way to learn if it’s worth your time and energy to submit your writing is to READ THE BOOKS WE’VE ALREADY PUBLISHED…” :-)

I’l finish this post with a link to Poets & Writers Database of Small Presses.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Check Out Our Latest Poll…
Read Some Strange Fantasies
Grab A Free Novel…
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
To Leave A Comment, Use The Link At The Top-Right of The Post :-)
For Private Comments or Questions, Email: amzolt {at} gmail {dot} com

6 responses to “Publishing Poetry

  1. J.L. Campbell January 14, 2015 at 5:31 pm

    I’ve always looked at Poetry as being hard to sell, perhaps because I don’t read a lot of it and don’t know many people who do.

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai January 14, 2015 at 5:37 pm

      Wonderful to see you here!

      And, it is hard to sell poetry—may ever be hard—unless humanity can raise its literary sights…

      Like

  2. juliecround January 16, 2015 at 5:35 am

    I don’t read poetry unless it is recommended or written by somebody I know personally. I don’t think I have ever bought a poetry book, although I have sold one. When you write poetry it is much more personal than writing fiction. It is distilled emotion, whether it be anger, love , appreciation or humour. Some ideas are so ephemeral that they can only be captured in verse, whether it be rhyming or free, but I believe poetry is written for the writer, not the reader. Even the mildly political stuff I have written is to get something ‘off my chest’ and once it is on paper I feel better.

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai January 16, 2015 at 4:34 pm

      Very interesting perspectives you have, Julie………

      Like

  3. D.G.Kaye January 18, 2015 at 6:00 pm

    Just downloaded! Thank you. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Alexander M Zoltai January 18, 2015 at 6:37 pm

      Oh, my… You are Very Welcome :-)

      Liked by 1 person

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

