Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

What Are Your Writing Habits?


Ask 100 writers about their writing habits and you might just get 150 methods—half of them changing their habits while they speak…

What Are Your Writing Habits

Image Courtesy of Marcel Hol ~ http://www.freeimages.com/profile/marzie

Writing is a slippery profession and writers’ habits can slide around and mutate quickly—though, there are those who have always done and will always do it just so…

I realize that “habit” usually refers to something developed over quite a span of time; but, with strong enough motivation, a new habit can be acquired quickly…

In fact, one of the best cures for writer’s block is to change a few of the habitual things you do.

I subscribe to Publishing Perspectives and often find material there for this blog.

Have you heard of the Andrew Lownie Literary Agency?

They’ve represented books like The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English, The Oxford Classical Dictionary, The Penguin Companion to the European Union, and Norma Major’s history of Chequers.

So, back to writers’ habits…

Publishing Perspectives has an article called What Are Your Writing Habits? in which “Twenty-three client authors of the The Andrew Lownie Literary Agency outline their writing habits.”

[ BTW, going right along with this topic is this week’s readers’ poll, What’s Your Writing Space? (see the link at the bottom…) ]

So, back to writers’ habits…

Know any of these writers?

Nicholas Best, Jonathan Conlin, David Day, Piu Marie Eatwell, Peter Forbes, Cathy Glass, Catherine Hewitt, Michael Jago, Christian Jennings, Paul Anthony Jones, David Long, Sean Longden, Sian Mackay, Neil McKenna, Clare Mulley, Linda Porter, Katharine Quarmby, David Roberts, Julie Shaw, Peter Thompson, Mei Trow, Katy Weitz, or Chris Woodford?

Well, those are the authors who’ve revealed their Writing Habits in that Publishing Perspectives‘ article :-)

And, those of you doing NaNoWriMo might find a habit or two you could borrow to get you through the month…

So, what are Your  writing habits??
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Check Out Our Latest Poll…
Read Some Strange Fantasies
Grab A Free Novel…
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
To Leave A Comment, Use The Link At The Top-Right of The Post :-)
For Private Comments or Questions, Email: amzolt {at} gmail {dot} com

 

5 responses to “What Are Your Writing Habits?

  1. Nicole November 3, 2014 at 3:07 pm

    I love (in the article) what Christian Jennings said when he quoted Joseph Conrad, “when I’m looking out of the window, my wife doesn’t realize that I am in fact working very hard.”.
    And to pair that with Piu Marie’s opener, “Writing is, by definition, a lonely occupation. Which generally doesn’t bother me too much, in fact suits me just fine.”…

    I find myself almost always, when I’m in a crowd of people, spacing out and venturing off into my fictitious worlds. Then I get all these ideas I never get when I’m alone. By the time I make it someplace quiet to record them, though, I forget everything I thought or felt earlier.
    This drives me crazy.
    What’s worse, for me, is I sit up late so I can have all the peace and quiet I want, and I can’t find anything good to write about, but as soon as I give up and go to bed, my head hits the pillow and every fabulous idea under the moon is bouncing around in my noggin.
    I don’t know what you do about that. Walk around with a tape recorder, talking to it? haha

    Great post! Thank you for sharing. ;)

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai November 3, 2014 at 3:16 pm

      Well, Nicole, I know a writer who has a small digital recorder and uses it, often, while in bed, just before sleep…

      As far as using one of those while out and about—ya gotta get used to folks thinking your a bit daft :-)

      Like

  2. Jane Watson November 3, 2014 at 10:56 pm

    The same thing happens to me, Nicole :-) I pass out after hours of no ideas and then they come to me as I fall asleep. I sometimes tell myself before I fall asleep that during the night my brain will solve all the writing problems I have. Sadly my brain seems to take a lot of vacations :-)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Alexander M Zoltai November 4, 2014 at 11:12 am

      Perhaps, Jane, the work you ask your brain to do has happened—it’s just stored-up waiting—for the Magic Words that you write which release all the other words………

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: On The Path Toward . . . | Notes from An Alien

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

