Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

The Noble Typewriter


I was the only boy in my grade school typewriting class.

Typewriter

Image courtesy of andrew eldridge ~ http://www.freeimages.com/profile/andreweld

I wish my memory were better so I could determine if I wanted to be a writer way back then…

But, what else is a typewriter for?

Ever use one?

I also used a slide rule for math when I was in nuclear training in the Navy.

I guess I’m on the older side of young :-)

Returning to typewriters, did you know they’d been conceived of as early as 1714—check out this typewriter history page {lots of cool pictures}…

And, you can still buy a typewriter on Amazon :-)

Also, you can convert a typewriter into a keyboard for your computer.

From the site: “Our USB Typewriter circuitry can transform your old manual typewriter into a retro-futuristic marvel. Use a gorgeous vintage typewriter as the computer keyboard for your Mac or PC, or type with ink-on-paper while electronically recording your keystrokes! The USB Typewriter also makes an outstanding keyboard dock for your iPad or tablet PC.”

Plus, from a fascinating historical piece in The New Yorker, there’s this:

“Many of the early inventors of the typewriter thought that what they were inventing was a prosthetic device for the blind. Why would ordinary writers need a writing machine? They had pens.”

I’ll leave you to contemplate this obsolescent technology with a video of some very modern kids confronting a typewriter :-)


Check Out our Latest Poll…
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
To Leave A Comment, Use The Link At The Top-Right of The Post :-)
For Private Comments or Questions, Email: amzolt {at} gmail {dot} com
* Amazon Author Page
* Google Author Page

GRAB A FREE COPY of Notes from An Alien

4 responses to “The Noble Typewriter

  1. Martina Sevecke-Pohlen August 6, 2014 at 3:21 am

    I had heard the word slide rule but didn’t know what it meant in German. When I followed your link I found a device I didn’t know at all. Then I finally looked up slide rule. It’s der Rechenschieber, a compound noun from the roots rechnen = to calculate and schieben = to push. Thanks to you, Alexander, I came to learn two new words.

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai August 6, 2014 at 1:41 pm

      Wonderful, Martina!! :-)

      Like

  2. Jane Watson August 7, 2014 at 6:42 am

    The video is too gorgeous. These kids! I love their search for the paper slot and the delete key! :-)

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai August 7, 2014 at 1:44 pm

      Yes, Jane, being a lover of typewriters, I absolutely loved the way these kids explored a technology unknown to them :-)

      Like

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

