Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

Writers & Money ~ What A Lovely Affair


Are you a writer?

Do you know one?

Are they rich?

So much these days in the press about writers and money

I published a post back in 2011 called, Simple Question ~ Can Writers Make Money?, and said that it depends on what kind of writer you are

So, for instance, a writer who wants to devote their life to fiction but would like to make more money might want to consider freelancing in some form of reality-article hacking

As far as fiction writers achieving monetary success, in the past post, What Are A Writer’s Odds of “Success”?, I said:

“Who made it seem success wasn’t merely the next stage, from which further action becomes possible, but rather a pinnacle of achievement that leaves all other contenders breathless on the sides of the conquered mountain? So, who did that? Business people? Fundamentalist religious folk? Football coaches?”

But, in spite of the slim odds of fiction writers having a string of blockbusting books, they can, by working very hard, make some decent money.

And, thanks to my Best Friend‘s gentle reminders, I’ll share some resources from one of her favorite sites.

It’s Poets & Writers, been around since 1970, and their mandate is to serve poets, fiction writers, and creative nonfiction writers.

And, even though you could take that last link and find what they call “Tools for Writers”, let me put the links right here :-)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
To Leave A Comment, Use The Link At The Top-Right of The Post :-)
For Private Comments, Email: amzolt {at} gmail {dot} com
* Google Author Page

GRAB A FREE COPY of Notes from An Alien

2 responses to “Writers & Money ~ What A Lovely Affair

  1. juliecround March 28, 2014 at 6:37 am

    I have just started to keep an account of expenses and income. I am retired so it isn’t my job but I wanted to know the ratio. It appears I spend about eight times more than I ever get back at present.( on printing, advertising, postage and travel) Maybe it will change if I ever go digital!

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai March 28, 2014 at 7:14 am

      Well, Julie, I don’t know if you’ve ever looked into Smashwords

      When my next book is published, I’m going to utilize their distribution methods.

      My current publication is through FastPencil and I’m happy I have print and ebook formats they distribute to Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobe, iBooks, and Ingram—though, for the next one, I may use FastPencil for the print edition and Smashwords for digital

      Like

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

