Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

I Give Myself A Fantastic Writing Challenge . . .


It’s always interesting how seemingly isolated threads of activity can weave themselves into a new goal

First : I was contemplating the writing of one of the stories for the series, Behind The Scenes, and decided to purchase a deck of “Magic” cards to do a little research

Second : I gave a half-hearted attempt to learn how to play that card game and then just left the cards sitting on my writing desk

Third : I’d finished all the Behind The Scenes posts and faced the unrelieved desire to continue creating new stories each Friday

Fourth : A few days ago I spied the magic cards and playfully (randomly) drew-out five of them

Result: I had a Writing Prompt for a story and knew I’d begin a series of posts called Friday Fantasy

I’ll share, in a bit, a mind-map I created to evoke a plot for a fantasy story; but, first, here’s a graph from Visual Thesaurus for the word “fantasy”:

Post

And, here’s the Etymology of the word “fantasy”:

early 14c., “illusory appearance,” from Old French fantaisie (14c.) “vision, imagination,” from Latin phantasia, from Greek phantasia “appearance, image, perception, imagination,” from phantazesthai “picture to oneself,” from phantos “visible,” from phainesthai “appear,” in late Greek “to imagine, have visions,” related to phaos, phos “light,” phainein “to show, to bring to light” (see phantasm). Sense of “whimsical notion, illusion” is pre-1400, followed by that of “imagination,” which is first attested 1530s. Sense of “day-dream based on desires” is from 1926.

I’ve shared that info on “fantasy” because some of my regular readers might wonder why in the world I’m going to engage in genre writing—check out these past posts on genre—and, be aware, I fully intend to Bend the fantasy genre :-)

So, when I’d drawn those Magic cards, I got Merfolk, Enchantment-Immortality, Mountain, Forest, and Plain.

Here’s the mind map I created with Scapple as I contemplated the First Friday Fantasy

FirstFantasy

EDIT: Here’s the fantasy story I wrote the day after I wrote this post  :-)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
To Leave A Comment, Use The Link At The Top-Right of The Post :-)
For Private Comments, Email: amzolt {at} gmail {dot} com
* Google Author Page

GRAB A FREE COPY of Notes from An Alien

Select as many as you like:

4 responses to “I Give Myself A Fantastic Writing Challenge . . .

  1. libraryassociate December 6, 2013 at 12:45 pm

    Bend or Break it! The Fantasy, speculative fiction genre, (my clerks decided they would classify our Fantasy section under that tidentity) regardless it is one of my patrons favorite sections!! So that coupled with the fact I could access your blog again from the office today, I may have told you that sometimes it is blocked, I am thrilled! Most of my printable, readable, time is at work I stay late ALOT, and with the posts being shared for library and creative writing class use, it is the most appropriate setting for me to engage you! SO YAY. PS Fantasy mind map will be distributed to Tuesday nights creative students!

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai December 6, 2013 at 12:50 pm

      Well, since the story written from that mind-map will be on the blog in a few hours, you can share that on Tuesday, too :-)

      Like

  2. Pingback: Games, Mind Maps, and Doodles | Notes from An Alien

  3. Pingback: Writing Challenge ~~~ 6-Word Stories :-) | Notes from An Alien

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

