Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

Empty Pages And Full Minds


There aren’t many things stranger for a blogger than facing the computer with no idea of what to write.

Bloggers are, by nature, folks who like to spill the beans, regularly and in easy-to-digest portions.

Personally, I rarely have a day when I can’t immediately get into the blog post at hand—I do keep my InternetRadar turned on for probable topics

So, today, I looked over the possible options on my ToBlog List and nothing grabbed me.

Being, by nature, a writer, I noticed that peculiar condition that feels like a balloon, full-to-bursting with air, having more air added

These words are my controlled attempt to let some of the gaseous substance escape before I blow a mental gasket.

Creative writers are, by nature, strange people.

For instance, as I gave free reign to my urge to write about not knowing what to write in this blog, I used the phrase, “by nature”, three times (four, now) and don’t know why consciously but trust that my feeling of its rightness for this post will reveal itself

Another strange aspect of the creative writer’s life is the nature of words themselves.

So, let me recap and attempt to explicate a rationale for this post:

* I perused my list of possible blog topics and found it boring.

* I decided to write about not knowing what to write about.

* I used the phrase, “by nature”, four times to emphasis the inevitability of a desire to wrangle words being, at times, nearly impossible to explain.

* I reached the recap-phase and realized I was creating a word-mirror—a post I could contemplate as an effort to remain connected with my readers while showing them the under-belly of the commitment to creating five blog posts a week during the ramp-up to writing a companion volume for my novel, Notes from An Alien.

Perhaps this off-the-cuff post, written with my faith in my Muse to the fore, will reveal to any potential bloggers that commitment to the regularity of blog-life can create a semi-meaningful product that self-referentially justifies its own existence
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Our Comment Link Is At The Top of The Post :-)
For Private Comments, Email: amzolt {at} gmail {dot} com

12 responses to “Empty Pages And Full Minds

  1. lynnbiederstadt December 2, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    A post about not knowing how to write a post…nicely played, sir.
    xo
    -lynn@skydiaries

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai December 2, 2011 at 7:13 pm

      Why, thank you, Lynn!!

      So glad you visit here since I enjoy your blog so much :-)

      Like

  2. Tomas December 2, 2011 at 7:53 pm

    The first verse of Your post grabbed me – described me as the most strange blogger. You said: “There aren’t many things stranger for a blogger than facing the computer with no idea of what to write” That described my day perfectly. While I always have what to say and wish to talk but frequently only silently gaze at my screen in result, because … I have no picture to start the description line (the text message) My key for blogging is the painting. Only the artworks enable me to open my mouth, yet the creativity demands some time and thus make me the slave of the silence.
    Dear Alexander, Your comments on my blog would have the magical power to transform my notes into the artworks and thus your comments on my blog would free me soon. Thank you for the hope.

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai December 2, 2011 at 10:34 pm

      Tomas,

      As always, you raise my estimation of you by the comments you make :-)
      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
      Folks, Do go visit Tomas’ Magnificent Art Blog :-)

      Like

  3. Carter Lee (@thecarterlee) December 2, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    Excellent article. I have had this issue many times, staring blankly at the computer screen waiting for a topic to hit me. I think it’s great you actually wrote a blog about not being able to think of a topic to write on, excellent read!

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai December 2, 2011 at 10:36 pm

      Thanks, so much, Carter :-)

      Like

  4. Catana December 2, 2011 at 9:51 pm

    I’m guilty of writing meta posts now and then. Maybe we should look at them as a sign that we just can’t shut up, even when we have nothing to say. And I know exactly what you mean about the full balloon feeling. I suppose that’s where the blame really lies.

    Good to have *something* to blame, isn’t it?

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai December 2, 2011 at 10:36 pm

      Absolutely, Catana :-)

      Like

  5. cmmarcum December 3, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    …write about not knowing what to write about… Made me laugh. :)

    My hats off to you for writing 5 post per week. I would never…although my stack of written and rejected posts stands much higher than my written and posted ones. Now, tell me the truth: Do you really have trouble writing or is it an internal editor, a ghostly censor, who is trashing everything that doesn’t represent Notes from An Alien?

    Like

  6. Alexander M Zoltai December 3, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    Well, C. M., like I said in the post, “…I rarely have a day when I can’t immediately get into the blog post at hand…”; plus, once I begin a post, I complete and publish it

    Like

  7. Selena December 4, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    Interesting to watch you, looking at you, looking at you…..
    Good post!

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai December 4, 2011 at 2:40 pm

      Selena,

      Feels good to be seen :-)

      Like

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

