Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Reading, Writing, and Publishing ~

7 Reasons Self-Published Authors Know Best

I self-published Notes from An Alien because it’s such a niche novel and deserved to be in readers’ hands sooner rather than later. I didn’t have to go through a long, confusing soul/Internet searching to decide.

I didn’t really learn all the advantages of self-publishing till after my book was published and I was doing regular posts on this blog.

In my scanning of my Google Plus Stream, I clicked-through a link that Mick Rooney shared. The author was Mary Louisa Locke and the blog post was, Why Self-Published Authors Know Best.

There are still reasons to go with a traditional publisher but I doubt any of those will ever apply to me.

I feel traditional publishing houses will still exist in the future but in such a transformed shape that we’ll have to find a new way to classify them.

Go read Mary’s post and then, do please, come back and let me know what you think, ok?
Our Comment Link Is At The Top of The Post :-)

Take Part In Our Reader Survey

Get A Free Copy of the book, Notes from An Alien

7 responses to “7 Reasons Self-Published Authors Know Best

  1. Simone Benedict August 17, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    The post provides a great analysis. Thanks for sharing the link. Personally, at this point I’d still prefer the traditional publishing route, but I agree with you. How traditional publishing has existed will probably change.


    • Alexander M Zoltai August 17, 2011 at 4:01 pm

      Would love, sometime…, to know why you’d still prefer the traditional route, Simone


      • Simone Benedict August 17, 2011 at 7:09 pm

        Ha, ha, the reply I’d planned was spectacular, I thought. After thinking it over, the traditional route is also time consuming. Plus, I’ve inadvertantly set myself on the learning curve of self-publishing. My answer is no longer spectacular, sigh. In the end, maybe I’m set in my ways?


        • Alexander M Zoltai August 17, 2011 at 9:17 pm

          Well, Simone, no matter the route you choose, I’d Love to see you published :-)


  2. Selena August 17, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    She definitely has a solid argument in favor of self-publishing, and it further supports my own thoughts about it. I like the idea of keeping my hands in the process (i.e. being in control ;0 )from beginning to end. It also forces me to learn and keep up with the marketing and sales processes. I don’t want to lean back on my laurels and wait for someone else to decide when or if my work gets published. Thanks for this post and link.


    • Alexander M Zoltai August 17, 2011 at 9:19 pm

      You’re very welcome, Selena.

      And, yes, the control over the process, including the raising up of your own audience is a definite plus, even if it is time-consuming


  3. Pingback: Is it The End for Indies? | :Dandilyon Fluff

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,771 other followers