Notes from An Alien

~ Explorations In Writing { and reading and publishing } ~

Reader, Writer, Publisher ~ Wearing Three Hats Can Be Dangerous


Do I really mean that being a reader/writer/publisher is dangerous? Well, when I look at the word history of dangerous, I see that it comes from roots that mean the power of a lord…

And, “lord” comes from roots that mean “one who guards the bread”…

So, yes, if you’re contemplating using your experience as a reader to power your writing as you promote your way toward self-publishing, you’re becoming the lord of the process and guarding that bread can become dangerous.

Lest I overlook that word “bread”, let’s hope that this dangerous process leads to very nourishing food for your readers…

I’ve explored reading in this blog when I wrote about re-writing as we read.

I looked into writing when I posted about the creative responsibilites of the author.

And, publishing got a nod with Self-Publishing Can Be Just As Creative As Writing.

Over the last two years, I came from the bare idea of a book, carried it through initial promotional-feedback activities, experimented with a form for it, wrote it, and sent it to my editor. The last few months have been full of study and practice of pre-publication promotion. The book, Notes from An Alien, should be coming out in April…

The most dangerous thing about being the lord of all these activities has been keeping my head on straight as I switched hats :-)

Very soon, as I continue the promotion activities (and promotion is a critical part of the publishing process), I’ll be adding the reader and writer hats to my all-to-human head so I can get the final revisions accomplished and preen my baby for her social debut.

Have you experienced this dangerous process?

Are you contemplating braving the perils?

Have you done what I’m attempting and not felt imperiled at all?

Oh, please, share your thoughts and feelings in the comments…
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Follow the “co-author” of Notes from An Alien, Sena Quaren:
On Facebook
On Twitter
AND, Get A Free Copy of Our Book

10 responses to “Reader, Writer, Publisher ~ Wearing Three Hats Can Be Dangerous

  1. cmmarcum January 16, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    I haven’t worked up the nerve to tackle the Long Story. I thought I’d hone my skills with short stories first. Perhaps, you’d care to read my latest publication: http://liquid-imagination.com/Issue6/StoriesIssue6.html and give me your opinion. There is a podcast, but I always prefer to read.

    As far as reading and writing goes, when I can’t write anymore, I read. I find that it’s the best way to clear my head. As far as publishing goes, I haven’t got a clue. But as you say, it is a different ‘hat.’ Almost seems like a full time job–a disagreeable one at that.

    BTW: Added you to my Blog Roll. Of course, i was already tracking you with a subscription. :-)

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai January 16, 2011 at 3:47 pm

      Well, good to know we’re on each other’s Blogrolls :-)

      I’m not sure it takes “nerve” to write something long though I think I understand what you mean. My WIP is about 35,000 right now and even final revisions won’t drive it up much. Longest thing I’ve written. Still, it came out in scenes and chapters. I suppose there was a bit of nerve involved–needed long threads of nerve to stitch the scenes into chapters :-)

      Publishing is way different than reading or writing but, like that post I linked to talked about, when the “work” of publishing is creating relationships, things get pretty creative.

      I stole some time from my pre-publication promotion activities and read Stink. Rip-snortin’ little story you got there :-) Every time I thought it might slip into a cliche of other tales, it jumped up and took a fresh direction. Good Work!!

      Like

  2. cmmarcum January 16, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    Ah, what happen to the days when artists were mysterious, reclusive, dark, brooding and down-right anti-social? Now, we must write, blog, net-work, tour and play nice. Alas, I am doomed to obscurity.

    And thanks for reading. And commenting. I’ve always found it odd that so many people like to blog but few share their thoughts. Are they afraid to say (type) something stupid? Strangely, even my friends do not reply on my blog; they send me private emails. (oops, you misspelled a word or I’m not sure I agree with you) As for me, no question too stupid; no answer too deep. Perhaps, this can be a subject for a future piece…

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai January 16, 2011 at 11:19 pm

      I sure hope your, “I am doomed to obscurity.”, doesn’t mean you’re abandoning the social media part of an author’s life……..

      And, yes, we must find the magic potion that compels our readers to comment!

      I heard, in the Navy, that the only stupid question is the one you don’t ask :-)

      Like

      • cmmarcum January 17, 2011 at 3:18 pm

        I’m blogging, tain’t I? That’s a start.

        Like

        • Alexander M Zoltai January 17, 2011 at 3:43 pm

          Oh, good! You’re still in the “fight” :-)

          Like

          • Tomas January 17, 2011 at 11:28 pm

            your thoughts enabled me to understand my emotions and to look at them in the new light. Dear Alexander, thank you for the awakening post- for the challenge – for the disciplining insight.
            reading/writing/self publishing – the comprehension of the lordship unexpectedly doubles passionate burst of love that humbles and puts on the wings of the gratitude.
            …. is the offering to publish the diary to others not the prove of trust in others? That’s the sharing – the witnessing of love that transfers the writers into the curious readers and overcomes any fear (talking about some danger would symbolize just doubt and mistrust)
            … Dear Alexander, I would like to submit all my works to you to edit… wow, I would feel myself the blessed then – I am feeling thus already now – Thank you for the help to hear better my digital paintings

            Like

            • Alexander M Zoltai January 18, 2011 at 12:52 am

              Good to see you over here on the newer, cleaner version of the Notes from An Alien blog :-)
              The other incarnation is still active but my social media efforts led me to create this blog as my new “landing page” :-)

              Tomas,

              Your comments always send me into a deep pondering state–very welcome!!

              I *love* you’re saying that my post helps you “hear” your digital paintings :-)

              Plus, anyone else reading this comment should make a point of visiting Tomas’ Lovely Site

              Like

  3. HaleyWhitehall January 17, 2011 at 1:43 am

    I think I can wear the reading and writing hat but the publishing hat scares me. Of course, if I get a book published I will be promoting it as much as I can. If you would like to promote your book on my blog I would love to interview you some time.

    Like

    • Alexander M Zoltai January 17, 2011 at 2:03 am

      Interview me??

      Whew!

      Well, the book is still in Pre-Publication form but I’m letting folks read a free copy and give me feedback toward my final revisions :-)

      Maybe you’d like to read it and formulate some structure for a Pre-publication “interview”?

      If you did, though, you’d have to give me an equally awesome task to do for you :-)

      Like

What Are Your Thoughts or Feelings?

